Reborn in the USA

Drenched in the culture of the late ’80s and ’90s from the UK and the USA, and the heartfelt, hilarious sense of humor that has made Roger Bennett so beloved by his listeners, here is both a truly unique coming-of-age story and the love ...

Reborn in the USA

Reborn in the USA

The #1 New York Times Bestseller One-half of the celebrated Men in Blazers duo, longtime culture and soccer commentator Roger Bennett traces the origins of his love affair with America, and how he went from a depraved, pimply faced Jewish boy in 1980’s Liverpool to become the quintessential Englishman in New York. A memoir for fans of Jon Ronson and Chuck Klosterman, but with Roger Bennett’s signature pop culture flair and humor. Being a teenager isn’t easy, no matter where in the world you live or how much it does or doesn’t rain in your hometown. As an outsider—a private-schooled Jewish kid in working-class, heavily Catholic Liverpool—Roger Bennett wasn’t winning any popularity contests. But there was one idea, or ideal, that burned bright in Roger’s heart. That was America— with its sunny skies, beautiful women, and cool kids with flipped collars who ate at McDonald’s. When he embraced American popular culture, the dull gray world he lived in turned to neon teal—a color which had not even been invented in England yet. Introduced first through the gateway drug of The Love Boat, then to Rolling Stone, the NFL, John Hughes movies, Run-DMC, and Tracy Chapman, Roger embraced everything that would capture the imagination of a teenager growing up Stateside. When he made a real, in-the-flesh American friend who invited him over for the summer, he got to visit the promised land. A month in Chicago, and a life-changing night spent in the company of the Chicago Bears, was the first hit of freedom, of independence, of the Roger Bennett he knew he could be. (Re)Born in the USA captures the universality of growing pains, growing up, and growing out of where you come from. Drenched in the culture of the late ’80s and ’90s from the UK and the USA, and the heartfelt, hilarious sense of humor that has made Roger Bennett so beloved by his listeners, here is both a truly unique coming-of-age story and the love letter to America that the country needs right now.

More Books:

Reborn in the USA
Language: en
Pages: 336
Authors: Roger Bennett
Categories: Humor
Type: BOOK - Published: 2021-06-29 - Publisher: HarperCollins

The #1 New York Times Bestseller One-half of the celebrated Men in Blazers duo, longtime culture and soccer commentator Roger Bennett traces the origins of his love affair with America, and how he went from a depraved, pimply faced Jewish boy in 1980’s Liverpool to become the quintessential Englishman in
Reborn In The U.S.A.
Language: en
Pages:
Authors: Roger Bennett
Categories: Humor
Type: BOOK - Published: 2010 - Publisher:

Books about Reborn In The U.S.A.
Reborn in the USA (Tony Hadley, Peter Cox Etc).
Language: en
Pages:
Authors: Roger Bennett
Categories: Humor
Type: BOOK - Published: 2003 - Publisher:

Books about Reborn in the USA (Tony Hadley, Peter Cox Etc).
Reborn in the U. S. A.
Language: en
Pages: 224
Authors: Davina McColl, Maria Malone
Categories: Concert tours
Type: BOOK - Published: 2003-05 - Publisher:

Books about Reborn in the U. S. A.
Reborn in the U.S.A.
Language: en
Pages: 165
Authors: Trent Sands
Categories: Birth certificates
Type: BOOK - Published: 1998 - Publisher: Breakout Productions

Books about Reborn in the U.S.A.

Popular All Time

The Holy Word for Morning Revival - Knowing the Truth, Being Absolute for the Truth, and Proclaiming the Truth in the Present Evil Age
Deliverance From Demonic Covenants And Curses
Basic Bible Prophecy
Words
Get Out of Your Head
It's Not Supposed to Be This Way
Catholic Social Teaching
Get Your Life Back
The Purpose Driven Life
Boundaries Updated and Expanded Edition
Mere Christianity
Gentle and Lowly
Woman Evolve
NIV, Holy Bible, Red Letter Edition
La Palabra Santa para el Avivamiento Matutino - Conocer la verdad, ser absolutos en cuanto a la verdad y proclamar la verdad en el presente siglo maligno
The Holy Word for Morning Revival - Vital Factors for the Recovery of the Church Life
The Holy Word for Morning Revival - The Intrinsic and Organic Building Up of the Church as the Body of Christ
Winning the War in Your Mind

Recent Books: